"A meek endeavor to the triumph" by Sampath Jayarathna

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Heisman Trophy 2012 - Winner Prediction (Johnny Manziel "Football")

I'm really not a big fan of American Football (hardcore Sri Lankan Cricket Fan), and I don't even know the ABCD's of this game, but its hard to escape the heat when your school is one of forerunners for this 2012 prestiges award.  My college, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel wasn't even on the radar of the Heisman Trophy betting odds earlier this season, but a stellar campaign highlighted by an upset win over then-No. 1 Alabama has Johnny "Football" (nick name) as the favorite to win that trophy. And remember, no freshman (first year undergraduate) never won the Heisman Trophy in the history, but Texas A&M Aggies and Johnny Heisman "Football" is here to change the History Books for the Heisman Trophy.

History of Heisman Trophy

The Heisman Memorial Trophy Award (usually known colloquially as the Heisman Trophy or the Heisman), is awarded annually to the player deemed the most outstanding player in collegiate football. It was created in 1935 as the Downtown Athletic Club trophy and renamed in 1936 following the death of the Club's athletic director, John Heisman (former Brown University and University of Pennsylvania player; head football coach at Auburn University, Clemson University, Rice University, and University of Pennsylvania; and football, basketball, and baseball head coach and athletic director at Georgia Tech).

The award is presented by the Heisman Trophy Trust in early December before the postseason bowl games. It is the oldest of several overall awards in college football, including the Maxwell Award, Walter Camp Award, and the AP Player of the Year. The Heisman and the AP Player of the Year are the only awards to honor the most outstanding player, while the Maxwell Award and Walter Camp Award recognize the best player.

All football players in all divisions of college football are eligible for the award, though winners usually represent Division I Football Bowl Subdivision schools.

Heisman.com states that sports journalists are to be the determinants of the award since they are "informed, competent, and impartial." However, fans also vote for the award; a survey collected by ESPN.com counts as one vote for the award. In addition, previous Heisman winners are given a vote; this includes winners who are, occasionally, also current candidates for the award.

145 media voters are selected from each of six regions, for a total of 870 media voters.As of August 2012, there were 55 eligible former Heisman winners. (All living winners, except 2005's Reggie Bush, who returned his award amidst controversy.)

Each voter identifies three selections, ranking them in order. Each first-place selection is awarded three points. Each second-place selection is awarded two points. Each third-place selection is awarded one point. Voters must make three selections, and cannot duplicate a selection.

The accounting firm Deloitte is responsible for the tabulation of votes, which has moved almost exclusively to online voting since 2007. 


The updated odds to win the Heisman Trophy at BOVADA have Manziel listed as the 2/5 favorite, and he enters Saturday's game against Missouri with 3,047 passing yards to go along with 1,114 rushing yards on the season.
Manziel has tossed 21 touchdown strikes this season, and has rushed for 17 scores; he'd be the first freshman to ever win the Heisman Trophy.
Kansas State quarterback Collin Klein is then the second-favorite at 5/2 on the odds to win the Heisman Trophy. Klein has thrown for 2,306 yards and 14 touchdowns this season, while running for 787 yards and 20 scores.
Notre Dame linebacker Mante T'eo sits third at 4/1 on the Heisman Trophy odds at BOVADA , and he's been a big reason for the success of the top-ranked Fighting Irish's stalwart defense this season. The last defensive player to win the Heisman was CB/PR Charles Woodson of Michigan back in 1997.
Ohio State quarterback Braxton Miller has longer 20/1 odds to win the Heisman Trophy; he's passed for 1,850 yards and 14 touchdowns and rushed for 1,214 yards and 13 scores on the season.

Odds to Win the Heisman Trophy at BOVADA :
  • Johnny Manziel (QB Texas A&M) 2/5
  • Collin Klein (QB Kansas State) 5/2
  • Mante T’eo (LB Notre Dame) 4/1
  • Braxton Miller (QB Ohio State) 20/1
Award Watch : Johnny Manziel 

Currently As the presenting sponsor for the Heisman Trophy, Nissan has the unique privilege of casting one official vote on behalf of fans (the college football fan). The current leader-board shows,
  • Johnny Manziel QB Texas A&M 30%
  • Manti Te'o LB Notre Dame 28%
  • Collin Klein QB Kansas State 9%
  • Geno Smith QB West Virginia 7%
  • Braxton Miller QB Ohio State 5%
  • AJ McCarron QB Alabama 4%
  • Kenjon Barner RB Oregon 3%
  • De'Anthony Thomas RB Oregon 2%
  • Tajh Boyd QB Clemson 2%
  • Matt Barkley QB USC 2%
  • Giovani Bernard RB North Carolina 1%
  • Marcus Lattimore RB South Carolina 1%
  • Marqise Lee WR USC 1%

Please cast your vote to win Johnny Manziel this years Heisman Trophy 2012.


No comments: